The Miriam Hospital
A tradition of superior patient care

The Miriam Hospital Foundation Boards

About Our Foundation

The mission of The Miriam Hospital Foundation is to support excellent, compassionate and state-of-the-art health care, education, and research through philanthropy, which is essential to sustaining every great academic medical center.

The trustees provide leadership, oversight and direct assistance to fulfill The Miriam Hospital Foundation’s purpose. They serve as the governing entity for all development-related activities, advocate for the needs of the hospital – which was founded upon community philanthropy – and devote their time, talent and treasure to sustaining and advancing those initiatives.

Board of Trustees

October 2023 – October 2024

Susan H. Kaplan, Chair

Steven J. Issa, Vice Chair

Deborah Gilstein Jaffe, Secretary

William C. Tsonos, Treasurer

Maria P. Ducharme, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, President

Lawrence A. Aubin Sr., Ex-officio

Gary Bubly, MD, Ex-Officio

John Fernandez, Ex-Officio

Robert L. Bahr, MD

Susan Bazar, Life Trustee

Jeffrey G. Brier, Life Trustee

Joseph Brito, Jr

E. Colby Cameron

Sherry S. Cohen

Grace Dugan

Robin G. Engle

Jonathan D. Fain

Stuart Feldman

Edward D. Feldstein, Life Trustee

Brett Gerstenblatt

Suzanne R. Gilstein, Life Trustee

Almon C. Hall, Life Trustee

Alan G. Hassenfeld, Life Trustee

Phillip Kydd, Life Trustee

Marie J. Langlois, Life Trustee

Bertram M. Lederer, Life Trustee

Alan H. Litwin, Life Trustee

Marianne T. Litwin

Jamie Manville

Marcus P. Mitchell

Joseph R. Perroni

Michael Prescott

David F. Rampone, Life Trustee

Carolyn Roberts

James V. Rosati

Lawrence B. Sadwin, Life Trustee

Fred J. Schiffman, MD

Sheri Sweitzer

Matthew D. Vrees, MD

Edward J. Wing, MD


CeCe Bazar Aparo 

Peter Arden, Life Governor

Deborah D. Benik, Life Governor

John M. Blacher, Life Governor

Jeffrey G. Brier, Life Governor

David Brodsky, Life Governor

Jeffrey A. Brown 

Sheryl Carpionato

Harris Chorney, Governor by Designation

R. William Corwin, MD

Marc Crisafulli

Susan Cu-Uvin, MD

Forrest A. Daniels, DSc, FACHE

Rabbi Barry Dolinger, Governor by Designation

Elaine B. Fain, MD, Chair Appointed Governor

Jonathan D. Fain, Life Governor

Rabbi Michael Fel

Edward D. Feldstein, Esq., Life Governor

William H. Fitzgerald

Timothy Flanigan, MD

Bennie V. Fleming, EdD, Life Governor

Jennifer S. Flemming

Rabbi Wayne Franklin

Marie Ghazal, DNP, RN, FAAN

Andrew M. Gilstein

Brian Goldberg

Amy E. Gravell

Adam Greenman, Chair Appointed Governor

Neil Greenspan, MD

Susan J. Guerra

Alan G. Hassenfeld, Life Governor

Harold M. Horvat

Dayle H. Joseph, EdD, Life Governor

Charles B. Kahn, MD, Life Governor

Rami Kantor, MD

Susan H. Kaplan, Life Governor

Peter Karczmar, MD, Chair Appointed Governor

Kelly Kilmartin

Phillip Kydd, Life Governor

Judith Labossiere

Marie J. Langlois, Life Governor

Jerrold L. Lavine, Life Governor

Bertram M. Lederer, Life Governor

Judith B. Levitt, Life Governor

Jane Litner

Alan H. Litwin, Life Governor

Tiffany Mabee

Rajani Mahadevan

Anthony Mangiarelli

Brock Manville

Bess H. Marcus, PhD

Christopher Marsella

Mark Matrone

Wendy Montgomery

Jane S. Nelson, Life Governor

Prutha Patel

Joanne Patterson

Stefan Petrella

Daniel Rampone, Chair Appointed Governor

David F. Rampone, Life Governor

Arthur S. Robbins, Life Governor

Lucy Rose

Wendy Schiller 

Stacy Shill 

Judy C. Siegel, Governor by Designation

Jane Stanford

Samuel K. Suls, Life Governor

Michael J. Sweeney

Philip A. Torgan, MD, Life Governor

Girard Visconti

Dean Weinberg

Susan Winoker

Barbara E. Wolfe, PhD, RN, FAAN

Stephen D. Zubiago